The Big Lie

My generation was told a big lie. In a hundred different ways we were told that in order to be somebody you had to go to college. This lie lurked the halls of school and into the psyche of a generation. I’m not quite sure where it started, but it sure needs to end. I think we’re seeing the ramifications of it in piles of student debt and numerous underemployed/ unemployed college graduates.

I hope this post finds its way to some high school students. I remember being a junior and senior in high school. The one question you get asked from everyone and at every gathering is: where are you going to college? Underlying this is the assumption that you definitely are going to college. Why wouldn’t you? There can’t possibly be another option. Well I’m here to tell you that there is, and that there is no shame in choosing something other than college. The fact is college is full of people who have no idea what they want to do, but someone told them the logical next step was to go to college. Don’t take on a pile of debt because you think you’re going to “find yourself” spending another 4+ years learning.

I should take a second here and point out that I’m not bashing the idea of higher education. That would be absurd because I am a recent college graduate. I learned a lot in my time in college and I do think it will help me accomplish my goals. In a strictly monetary sense college graduates do earn more over their lifetime than those who didn’t go to college. Although I think this trend may start to even out as the college degree becomes almost as common as a high school diploma. There are definite benefits to getting a university education. Being able to earn a great education is one of the things I love about this country. So please don’t take this that way.

What I’m really saying is college is not for everyone, and that there is no shame in not going to college. In a rush to see us all become doctors, lawyers, and CEOs it was forgotten that we need people to build things, fix things, and get their hands dirty. If you want to be a mechanic go be the best one you can be. If you want to be an electrician go be the best one you can be. If you want to (fill in the blank) go be the best you can be. The fact is we need people of all career paths working hard at their jobs to keep things going. I think as long as you work hard with integrity it doesn’t matter what career you choose, you have something to hang your hat on.

Leave a comment